Fantastic! Less plastic!

Hello! It has been quite a while since I have written a blog post. I won’t make my excuses for being too busy, so many other things on, lots of work, sailing across the Atlantic, back to work… no you won’t hear any of those. I apologise but, trust me, i have not taken a break from the good fight.

My first post of the summer season is about an issue I have long been worried about… Unlike Barbie, my life in plastic ain’t fantastic.

Shampoo bottles, moisturiser tubs, mascara tubes, contact lense cases, glasses frames, phone cases, bike bottle holders, water bottles, parts of my shoes, wrapped around the veg in the shop. It is inescapable. Plastic is everywhere and it will be forever. Every single piece of plastic ever made still exists, in one form or another, somewhere. The Greenpeace campaign on ocean plastic and the raw foundation are doing successful work engaging people about the throw-away plastic culture exist in. Last week the government banned the use of microbeads in cosmetic products which is a huge move to reducing the rate of plastic pollution in the ocean.

It took a huge campaign to get this legislation through and now that it’s passed we mustn’t rest on our laurels. It’s not enough. When I sailed across the Atlantic it wasn’t microbeads I saw littering the waves, it was the huge blocks of polystyrene and blue containers. I don’t know where those things are going to end up, but they won’t be making it a better place.

This weeks sustainunable top tip? Swap some of the everyday plastics we all use for more durable, reusable, planet-friendly materials. Here is a small (but growing!) list of swaps I’ve already done:

  • Toothbrushes – get a bamboo one (trust me, they’re great)
  • Waterbottles – a steel one will last you a lifetime
  • Shampoo/Conditioner – Lush do some great solid shampoo – and they last for ages (Honey I washed my hair is my fave)
  • Tupperware/Cups – Elephant box have you covered

If you have any more ideas let us know, and I can add it to the list of Fantastic- Less Plastic products.

The Marine Conservation Society run a Plastic Challenge asking people to give up single use plastic for a whole month. It’s not until June 2018, so you’ve got plenty of time to prepare. If you want to find out how big your plastic footprint is (roughly) do this test, see if you use less than my 960 items a year!

Photo by Johnny Chen on Unsplash
3 Comments Add yours

  1. helloleaa says:

    Apologies if you are already, but have you thought about going vegan? It’s one of the biggest impacts you can make in terms of sustainability!

    Like

    1. Sophia says:

      Hey! I know, its amazing the difference a vegans footprint is compared to your everyday carnivore. I’m vegetarian and giving vegan a go one meal at a time but it takes a lot of forward planning when no one else is vegan who you live with or work with! Hopefully one day I can fully commit!

      Like

  2. Jem says:

    I fully agree that we should be using less plastic. We should be looking at the supply chain too. Take the Lush shampoo….. What containers do the ingredients come in (I bet they are plastic and not reusable). Do the ingredients come from abroad, if so what materials are used to transport them (plastic wrapped crates I bet)? I bet there are very few companies out there that understand how much plastic there is in their supply chain.

    Like

Leave a Reply

